A guide to parliamentary action in support of disarmament for security and sustainable development

List of key international disarmament treaties and agreements

  • Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention, 1997
  • Arms Trade Treaty, 2013
  • Bangkok Treaty (South East Asia Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone), 1995
  • Biological Weapons Convention, 1972
  • Central Asia Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone Treaty, 2006
  • Chemical Weapons Convention, 1992
  • Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, 1996
  • Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons, 1980
  • Convention on Cluster Munitions, 2008
  • Convention on Environmental Modification Techniques, 1976
  • International Instrument to Enable States to Identify and Trace, in a Timely and Reliable Manner, Illicit Small Arms and Light Weapons, 2005
  • Pelindaba Treaty (Africa Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone), 1986
  • Rarotonga Treaty (South Pacific Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone), 1986
  • Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe (CFE), 1990
  • Treaty of Tlatelolco (Latin America and Caribbean Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone), 1967
  • Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), 1968
  • Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, 2017
  • UN Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat and Eradicate the
  • Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All Its Aspects (PoA), 2001
  • UN Protocol against the Illicit Manufacturing of and Trafficking in
  • Firearms, Their Parts and Components and Ammunition (Firearms Protocol), 2001

Note: Additional regional agreements are included in the chapters relating to those agreements above, and especially regional agreements relating to small arms and light weapons.

This page is part of Assuring our Common Future, a handbook for parliamentarians.